Mexico has announced the operation of eight new power plants operated by the Federal Electricity Commission (CFE) as part of a programme of energy development.

The national energy programme includes the withdrawal of five units generating 464 MW, which will be offset by the new plants.

These plants are to begin commercial operation shortly. While some are operated privately, others are state-owned.

The electricity generation capacity of these eight plants will be equivalent to the power consumption in Mexico’s Nayarit state.