New Zealand plans plant sales

Ministers from New Zealand plan to sell eight power stations which are not considered part of the core business of Electricity Corporation of New Zealand, the government-owned generating company. Stations to be sold include Matahina, Coleridge, Highbank, Cobb, Kaitawa, Tuai, Piripaua and Mangahao. They are for sale only to local energy companies or Maori interests, not the global market. The government does not plan to privatize the main assets of the state electric utilities.