Personnel, promotions and changes

Ingersoll-Dresser Pump Co. has announced senior management appointments for its Asia/Pacific business, including Colin Chua, director, Industrial Pumps; Clive Cowell, director, Engineered Pumps; Diana Chong, director, Finance and Administration; Paul Keck, director, Customer Services; and James Wu, regional sales manager, South East Asia. Ingersoll-Rand Co. has appointed Richard J. Johannessen Jr. to the new position of president, Asia/Pacific.

Huaneng Power International Inc. has made several changes to its board of directors: Huang Jinkai, chairman of Huaneng International Power Development Corp., was named a director of the company, along with Wang Xiaosong, Ye Daji and Wei Yunpeng, who succeeded Ma Guisheng, Li Huasheng and Bian Guisheng. Xu Binguan, deputy general Manager of the Fujian Investment and Development Co., was named a director of Huaneng, succeeding Chen Weide. Lin Jianxin, Shantou Power Development Corp. general manager, was named a director of Huaneng, succeeding Lin Yijiong. Wang Defang will not continue as chairman, and Lang Chengwei will not continue as vice chairman and director. Huang Jinkai and Li Xiaopeng were selected as chairman and vice chairman, respectively, of the board.

Ronald J. Stone has been promoted to Edison Mission Energy managing director of UK business.

Norman D. Shahan has been named Demag Delaval Turbomachinery Corp. president and CEO. He is also assuming direct general management responsibility of the Demag Delaval Compressor and Turbine Division.

Steve Skidmore is the new managing director of international development in India for Pacific Generation Co., USA.

Siemens Energy & Automation has appointed Carsten Bethge director of its International Business Unit.

Akira Kohzuki has been named Johnson Yokogawa Corp. president and CEO.

Georgia R. Nelson has been appointed Americas Division president and worldwide operations senior vice president for Mission Energy Co.

Udo Sill has been named vice president of engineering, and Dietrich Romeiser has been named vice president of project management for the fossil division at Siemens Power Corp.

CIGRE (International Conference on Large High-Voltage Electric Systems) US National Committee has elected officers to serve for the next two years. They are: Arun G. Phadke, secretary-treasurer; Virginia C. Sulzberger, vice president; Dean E. Perry, vice president; Thomas F. Garrity, vice president; Bruce Renz, vice president; Ronald R. Wood, member at large; and Jeffrey A. Donahue, member at large. The committee also presented Attwood Associate Awards to Clarence Baldwin of Westinghouse; Jan Panek of Senior Consulting Engineering; William Thue, consulting engineering, private practice; and William McNutt, formerly of General Electric. Yves Thomas has taken over as CIGRE secretary general, succeeding Yves Porcheron who retired.