Personnel appointments and award winners

Personnel appointments and award winners

Richard F. Allen has been appointed president of Wartsila Power Development, responsible for the company`s worldwide power development activities, organization and assets.

Donald E. Beebe Jr. has been appointed president of Kvaerner EnviroPower Inc. Beebe, Jacobs-Sirrine in Greenville, S.C., USA, former vice president of business development will be responsible for all of the company`s North American business operations.

Dr. Roger Urwin has been appointed managing director of transmission for the National Grid Co. in the United Kingdom. Urwin is CEO of London Electricity. Eric Chefneux, National Grid Co. engineering services director, will retire from the board at the end of 1995. Malcolm Williamson, Standard Chartered Bank group chief executive, is joining the board as a nonexecutive director, filling a vacancy created earlier this year by the resignation of Allan Gormly.

J. William Holden has been named vice president for operations and development in Latin America and the Caribbean at Southern Electric International. He succeeds Robert G. Dawson, who was named president of Southern Communications Services, another subsidiary of The Southern Co.

David W. Weaver has been elected to the new position of vice president, Asia, for CMS Generation Co. He will establish and manage a regional office in Singapore, overseeing the company`s energy development and operation activities in Southern Asia and the Pacific Rim region.

International Generating Co. has announced eight new senior vice presidents. They are, followed by their area of responsibility: Alastair Campbell, Asia-Pacific; John Foster, acquisitions and strategic planning; Katherine Gurun, general counsel; Mike Hogan, Europe, Africa, Middle East and Southwest Asia; Jim Kekeisen, fuel procurement and investment; Ron Lillejord, CFO; Tom Smith, Latin America; and Chris Terajewicz, contracts and operations.

Timo J. Niemi has been appointed regional president for Asia Pacific at Valmet Automation. He is also the new president of the company`s Automation Division.

Francois D. Martzloff, National Institute of Standards and Technology, has been named the 1995 winner of the International Power Quality Award, presented annually by UtiliCorp United to recognize an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to power engineering. Martzloff is also the chairman of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers standards coordinating committee on power quality and chairman of the International Electrotechnical Commission`s subcommittee on high frequency phenomena.

No posts to display