21 August 2002 – India’s Federal Power Minister Suresh Prabhu, who has been striving for reforms in the power sector, has resigned from the Federal Cabinet following a directive from his party supremo, Shiv Sena Chief Bal Thackeray.

Prabhu’s resignation, tendered on August 14, is likely to be accepted and Junior Minister for Finance Anant Geete is expected to take on the position of Power Minister. Thackeray is believed to have made it plain that he was not happy with the working of Prabhu and wanted instant results.

While the 49-year-old Prabhu has been elected from the Rajapur constituency in the western state of Maharashtra, Geete represents the adjoining Ratnagiri constituency from the same region.

Shiv Sena’s MP from Buldhana in Vidarbha region Anandrao Adsul is likely to take the place of Geete in the Finance Ministry.

Reports of Prabhu’s resignation from the Ministry had circulated in April during the Shiv Sena conference at Shirdi, but Thackeray had then declared that he had rejected the resignation.

Prabhu, a chartered accountant by profession, is said to enjoy a good rapport with Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and was the Shiv Sena representative in the first 13-day government headed by Vajpayee in 1996.