Siepac nations push for greater inter-regional integration

The member countries of the newly operating Central American Electrical Interconnection System (Siepac) – Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama- are keen to cooperate with their neighbouring countries.

At a recent meeting organized by the Inter-American Development Bank, Siepac representatives signed a cross regional electricity integration declaration with Mexico, Belize, the Dominican Republic and Colombia.

BNAmericas reported that the declaration included agreements to explore options to integrate Siepac with Belize, Colombia and Mexico, work towards the completion of the Panama-Colombia interconnection, and exploring options to streamline renewable energy development and integration.

Additionally, BNAmercias says, Siepac members signed an action plan that aims to finalise Siepac’s physical infrastructure by the end of 2014, as well as strengthen the Central American Regional Power Market’s functionality.

The action plan also seeks to formulate and apply a regional tariff mechanism and implement a regulatory framework to permit transactions through fixed contracts and transmission rights schemes by the end of 2014.

For more Business news.

For more T&D Infrastructure news.

For more Latin America news.

No posts to display