India has approved the construction of six nuclear reactors at Jaitapur, Maharashtra in partnership with Areva.

Two 1,650MW units will begin in the current Plan period, according to Minister of state V Narayanasamy.
Nuclear power plant
“The government has accorded in-principle approval for locating six units of Light Water Reactors each of 1,650MW capacity at Jaitapur in technical co-operation with France,” said Narayanasamy.

In December 2010, Areva signed major agreements with Indian officials for the construction of two EPR reactors, the first of a series of six at Jaitapur, and for the supply of fuel for 25 years.

India has 20 nuclear reactors across the country, of which 19 are currently in operation.

For more nuclear power generation news