15 August 2002 – An independent panel of environmental experts that will help guide UK energy regulator Ofgem’s green agenda has been named today.

The Environmental Advisory Group, which is made up of policy experts from Government, industry and the green groups will advise Ofgem on the priorities for its work in relation to the environment.

Ofgem’s Chief Executive, Callum McCarthy said, “The creation of this Group is further recognition of the increased importance of the environment to Ofgem’s work.

“We are delighted that we have environmental experts from a wide range of backgrounds on the panel. The scope of the Group will not just cover specific commitments made under the Environmental Action Plan, but also the environmental aspects of any of Ofgem’s work.”

Members of the Group will participate as individuals and not as representatives of organisations. The first meeting will be on 22nd November.

The members are:

Brian Count, Innogy
Professor Paul Ekins, University of Keele and Policy Studies Institute
Richard Farrant, non-executive member of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority
Rupert Fraser, Fibrowatt Ltd
Nick Goodall, British Wind Energy Association
Paul Jefferiss, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
Eoin Lees, Energy Saving Trust
Paul Leinster, Environment Agency
Joan MacNaughton, Department of Trade and Industry
Colin Matthews, Lattice Group Plc
Dinah Nichols, Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Jeremy Nicholson, Energy Intensive Users’ Group
John Roberts, United Utilities
Philip Wright, Scottish Executive
Chaired by Callum McCarthy, Chief Executive, Ofgem