Leading lights recognised at POWER-GEN Africa Best Paper Awards

The POWER-GEN Africa conference and exhibition took place in Cape Town last week and the eagerly awaited ‘Best Paper Awards’ were announced at the event on Wednesday.

POWER-GEN Africa awards were presented by Nigel Blackaby, Director of Conferences, Pennwell Global Power Group, while Dr Willie de Beer, chairman of the DistribuTECH Africa Advisory Board, presented for DistribuTECH Africa. Mr Blackaby told Power Engineering International: “Out of the 150 high quality papers presented at this year’s conference, these represented the most innovative and well researched, as judged by our Advisory Board. Congratulation to all the winners, for their contribution to knowledge sharing among Africa’s power industry professionals.”

Candice Stephen and Matshela Koko of Eskom with POWER-GEN Africa Best Paper Award winner Louis Jestin of EDF and Nigel Blackaby, Pennwell
The Technical Track saw Klaus-Dieter Tigges, of Babcock Borsig Steinmàƒ¼ller win for his paper, entitled ‘Refurbishment, Repowering and Life Extension of Power Plants in South Africa’. Highly commended in this category were papers by Candice Stephen of Eskom Holdings (Implementation of DeSOx Technologies in a South African Context) and Warrick Pierce, Aurecon (Solar Aided Power Generation (SAPG):à‚  A South African case study.)

The Strategic Track was won by Louis Jestin of Electricite de France (EDF) (Euronext:à‚ EDF) for his paper on the Eskom Power Plant Engineering Institute (EPPEI) 5-year research strategic plan.

Highly commended in that category were Phindile M. Mooketse, also of Eskom (Operational excellence through qualification and global knowledge transfer) and David Leligdon, Black & Veatch, (Capacity Building in Africa through Major Projects).

The Renewable Track at POWER-GEN Africa saw Jacopo Pendezza of CEFA Tanzania emerge the winner for the paper, entitled ‘Non-Profit/Profit Partnership in SHPP: CEFA’s Experiences and Perspectives in Tanzania’.

Others to be commended in this category were ended Salihu Auta of Kainji Hydro Electric for the paper, Enhancement of Existing Assets of Hydro Power Plants African Perspective (Kainji Hydro Electric Power Station as a case study) and Emergent Energy’s Yoann Joyeux for Own Generation Solar PV System in Agriculture and Manufacturing the Case of South Africa.

Finally DistribuTECH Africa awards were also presented for technical and strategic tracks.

Coert Scherman of Aurecon was recognised for a technical paper entitled, Ethekwini Electrical Network Asset Data Capture, Gnis Enhancement and Modelling. Runners up (Highly Commended) were Bruno Opitsch, Siemensà‚ (NYSE:à‚ SI) (Distributed Networks form Blind Spot to Main Player) and Roger Martin, S&C Electric Company (Improving Lateral Protection with Cut out-Mounted Reclosers).

In the category of Strategic Track, Michael Edmonds of S&C Electric won for his paper, ‘Applications of Energy Storage in Distribution.’

The paper, ‘Analysis and Assessment of Communication Technologies for Smart Grid ICT Infrastructure’ by Joerg Mueller, Accenture was highly commended by the judging panel as was Reshin Moodley of Eskom for ‘The Implementation of Phasor Measurement Technology in Eskom’.

For more Africa power generation news

No posts to display